The Silence of Bones Tour – Review, Favorite Quotes, and Giveaway

Click on the image to see my booksta post!

About the Book

Still, I imagined they were bowing to me.

June Hur

The Silence of Bones
by June Hur
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
Release Date: April 21st 2020
Genre: Young Adult, Mystery, Historical, Historical Fiction

I have a mouth, but I mustn’t speak;

Ears, but I mustn’t hear;

Eyes, but I mustn’t see.

For women were not considered threats to the capital, as men were, when darkness fell.

June Hur

1800, Joseon (Korea). Homesick and orphaned sixteen-year-old Seol is living out the ancient curse: “May you live in interesting times.” Indentured to the police bureau, she’s been tasked with assisting a well-respected young inspector with the investigation into the politically charged murder of a noblewoman.

As they delve deeper into the dead woman’s secrets, Seol forms an unlikely bond of friendship with the inspector. But her loyalty is tested when he becomes the prime suspect, and Seol may be the only one capable of discovering what truly happened on the night of the murder.

But in a land where silence and obedience are valued above all else, curiosity can be deadly. June Hur’s elegant and haunting debut The Silence of Bones is a bloody tale perfect for fans of Kerri Maniscalco and Renée Ahdieh.

For the first time since my brother had disappeared, I felt seen.

June Hur

Review

You really have no idea how excited I was when I found out about this book! I absolutely love anything set in Joseon. It’s just always so dark and beautiful, like the cover of The Silence of Bones. I mean, the more I look at it the more I see and pick up on. I do seriously love this time period though and I wish there were more books set in it. But this book was honestly so much more than I could have hoped for!

Loyalty. I may waiver, but I always fight to return to it.

June Hur

This books is so much more dark and gritty than I had expected. I feel like stories set in Joseon either go the cheesy/cheery route or the dark/gritty route and I was pleasantly surprised that this one fell into the latter category. The mystery was so good and when I say this book goes dark, I mean it goes dark. But the writing remains beautiful throughout. It has those dark undertones, but still is very lyrical.

Be careful. Cross no one. Obey always

June Hur

The characters were also really amazing. Seol (which always confuses me when Korean characters are named that) is always underestimated but she’s got pluck. She uses her ability to fly under the radar to her advantage, and I can appreciate that level of scrappiness. Seriously though, this book was just so amazing!

About the Author

JUNE HUR (‘Hur’ as in ‘her’) was born in South Korea and raised in Canada, except for the time when she moved back to Korea and attended high school there. Most of her work is inspired by her journey through life as an individual, a dreamer, and a Christian, with all its confusions, doubts, absurdities and magnificence. She studied History and Literature at the University of Toronto, and currently works for the public library. She lives in Toronto with her husband and daughter.

Her debut novel THE SILENCE OF BONES (Feiwel & Friends/Macmillan, April 2020) is a murder mystery set in Joseon Dynasty Korea (early 1800s), and also a coming-of-age tale about a girl searching for home. It was recently selected by the American Booksellers Association as one of the top debuts of Winter/Spring 2020. She is represented by Amy Bishop of Dystel, Goderich & Bourret LLC.

Excerpt

Fate. A shackle as solid as truth— unchangeable, unmovable. On the day of my departure, my sister had told me how long I was bound by the government to serve in the police bureau, away from home, from family. For one generation, she’d whispered.

My entire life.

That is, I would be free by the age of forty-one, as old as death itself.

A thunder of fluttering wings filled the sky in all directions, the birds overhead taken to flight. A shriek in the distance pierced the air; a terrified horse. Officer Kyŏn charged ahead, while it took me a scrambling moment to realize what was happening. I jabbed my heels into Terror’s side and followed him through the thicket, over the protruding roots, branches hitting my face.

Then we reached a glade and my heart stopped. Across the stream stood Inspector Han, his sleeve blood-soaked, his hand inching toward the sword at his side. A matter of paces away prowled a tiger, a deep growl rumbling from its white- and- black- striped chest. Powerful paws with sharp claws. The beast looked as large as Inspector Han himself.

“Do not move,” the inspector said, though not to us. Past the thick cluster of leaves was a horse struggling on the ground, shaking its head as blood continued to ooze from its wounded side. And hunkered down behind the creature was Maid Soyi.

Unable to look away from the scene, I hissed to Kyŏn, “Shoot it!”

A muscle worked in Officer Kyŏn’s jaw. Clearly he was incensed at an order from a girl, but he drew out an arrow and nocked it to his bow. As he aimed, the iron point trembled. What resolve he had, I watched falter and crumble.

“I’ll do it.” I snatched the weapon from him and rode out into the glade for a better aim. My motion caught the tiger’s attention. Good. My fear had reached its climax, and another sensation flooded in, a powerful longing that churned within me: the desire to matter.

Tour Schedule

April 15th

The Unofficial Addiction Book Fan Club – Welcome Post

April 16th

TheGeekishBrunette – Review + Favourite Quotes
moon & coffee – Review
Books, Tea, Healthy Me – Review + Favourite Quotes
Book-Keeping – Review
Clairefy – Review

April 17th

Ya It’s Lit – Review + Favourite Quotes
Biblio.JoJo – Review
Ohana Cascadia – Review + Favourite Quotes
Bookishaestha – Review + Playlist + Dream Cast
Allisa White’s Book Blog – Review + Favourite Quotes

April 18th

Belle’s Archive – Review
Confessions of a YA Reader – Review + Favourite Quotes
Library of a Book Witch – Review
Adventurous Bookworm – Review + Favourite Quotes

Books_andPoetrii – Review

April 19th

Foals, Fiction & Filigree – Review + Favourite Quotes
The Layaway Dragon – Review
For The Love of Fictional Worlds – Review + Favourite Quotes
Readlogy – Review
A Dream Within A Dream – Review

April 20th

PopTheButterfly Reads – Review
The Reading Corner for All – Review + Favourite Quotes + Book
Aestheticdinipandareads – Review + Favourite Quotes
Here’s to Happy Endings – Review
Lost in Storyland – Review + Favourite Quotes

April 21st

Sometimes Leelynn Reads – Review + Dream Cast
Frayed Books – Review
Endless Chapters – Review + Favourite Quotes
A Book Addict’s Bookshelves – Review
Lu’s books – Review + Favourite Quotes

Giveaway

Prize: Win a $30 gift card from an indie bookstore (US & Canada Only)
Starts: 15th April 2020
Ends: 29TH April 2020

<a class="rcptr" href="http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/d9681b86488/" rel="nofollow" data-raflid="d9681b86488" data-theme="classic" data-template="" id="rcwidget_99q6jej7">a Rafflecopter giveaway</a>
<script src="https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js"></script>

Instagram Tour Schedule

April 15th

The FFBC Tours
TUABFC

April 16th

Clairefy
moon & coffee
TheGeekishBrunette
Book-Keeping
Books, Tea, Healthy Me

April 17th

Ya It’s Lit
Bookishaestha
Biblio.JoJo
Ohana Cascadia

April 18th

Belle’s Archive
Confessions of a YA Reader
Adventurous Bookworm
Library of a Book Witch

April 19th

Foals, Fiction & Filigree
Allisa White’s Book Blog
A Dream Within A Dream

April 20th

The Reading Corner for All
Here’s to Happy Endings
PopTheButterfly Reads
Lost in Storyland

April 21st

Frayed Books
Sometimes Leelynn Reads
Lu’s books

*I received a copy in exchange for an honest review*

The June Boys Tour – Review, Moodboards, & Giveaway

Click the image to see my booksta post!

About the Book

The June Boys
by Courtney C. Stevens
Publisher: Thomas Nelson
Release Date: March 3, 2020
Genre: Young Adult, Mystery, Thriller

The Gemini Thief could be anyone. Your father, your mother, your best friend’s crazy uncle. Some country music star’s deranged sister. Anyone.

The Gemini Thief is a serial kidnapper, who takes three boys and holds them captive from June 1st to June 30th of the following year. The June Boys endure thirteen months of being stolen, hidden, observed, and fed before they are released, unharmed, by their masked captor. The Thief is a pro, having eluded authorities for nearly a decade and taken at least twelve boys.

Now Thea Delacroix has reason to believe the Gemini Thief took a thirteenth victim: her cousin, Aulus McClaghen.

But the game changes when one of the kidnapped boys turns up dead. Together with her boyfriend Nick and her best friends, Thea is determined to find the Gemini Thief and the remaining boys before it’s too late. Only she’s beginning to wonder something sinister, something repulsive, something unbelievable, and yet, not impossible:

What if her father is the Gemini Thief?

Review

Ahhhhh! This book was so good! I’m a sucker for a classic styled mystery, so of course I was immediately interested in this one. Add in some of the dark and broody elements and I’m sold! I mean, the writing is just so delicious and elevates the story.

The bulk of this story is about Thea trying to figure out who the Gemini Thief is after her cousin becomes one of his yearly victims. Basically, the Gemini Thief operates under this weird yearly schedule where he steals three boys and holds them captive for thirteen months before letting them go alive. The only problem is that one of the kidnapped boys suddenly turns up dead.

I think that this book is coming out at the perfect timing too. This truly sounds like something you would hear about on a true crime podcast. Which also helps add to the eerie feel of the story. The realness of the horror these characters are facing is palpable, allowing you to descend into the madness of what is occuring.

Moodboards

About the Author

Courtney “Court” Stevens grew up among rivers, cornfields, churches, and gossip in the small town south. She is a former adjunct professor, youth minister, Olympic torchbearer and bookseller at Parnassus Books. These days she writes coming-of-truth fiction and is the Community Outreach Manager for Warren County Public Library. She has a pet whale named Herman, a bandsaw named Rex, and several novels with her name on the spine.

Tour Schedule

March 3rd

Evelynreads– Review
NovelKnight– Guest Post

March 4th

BookCrushin– Bookstagram
Kait Plus Books– Interview
The Reading Corner for All– Bookstagram/Mood Board
Fazila’s Book Review Corner– Review

March 5th

Adele is Reading– Review & Favorite Quotes
Foals, Fiction & Filigree– Review
& She Reads– Creative Post
Dazzled by Books– Promo

March 6th

Wishful Endings– Interview
Beckybookstore– Review & Bookstagram
Books, Tea, Healthy Me– Review

March 7th

Moonlight Rendezvous– Review
Confessions of a YA Reader– Promo & Bookstagram
The Desert Bibliophile– Review

March 8th

Pages and Pugs– Review
The Shelf Life Chronicles– Bookstagram
Biblio JoJo– Review

March 9th

It Starts at Midnight– Review
Ya It’s Lit– Creative Post
Libri Draconis– Review

Giveaway

1 copy of THE JUNE BOYS by Court Stevens

<a class="rcptr" href="http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/d9681b86468/" rel="nofollow" data-raflid="d9681b86468" data-theme="classic" data-template="" id="rcwidget_qmshzz44">a Rafflecopter giveaway</a>
<script src="https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js"></script>

*I received an arc in exchange for an honest review*