The Key to Fear Tour – Review & Giveaway

Click the image to see my booksta post!

Today I’m excited to participate in the Bookstagram & Creative Blog Tour for The Key to Fear by Kristin Cast! The Key to Fear is the first book in a young adult dystopian trilogy publishing on October 13, 2020 from Blackstone Publishing!

About the Book

Title: The Key to Fear
Author: Kristin Cast
Series: The Key #1
Publisher: Blackstone Publishing
Publishing Date: October 13th, 2020
Genres: YA Dystopian

No touching today for a healthy tomorrow.

For fifty years, the Key Corporation has defended humanity against a deadly virus that spreads through touch. Lovers don’t kiss, or even hold hands. Personal boundaries are valued above all. Break the laws, and you’ll face execution.

Elodie, a talented young nurse, believes in the mission of the Key and has never questioned the laws that control her life. But Elodie is forced to break the rules when she sets out in search of a terminal patient who goes missing while under her care.

From the outside, it seems like Aiden was given everything he could want from the Key—a purpose, an education, and a future. But Aiden knows more than he’s letting on, and the dark secrets he’s keeping could tear the Key’s strict society apart.

When Elodie and Aiden’s lives collide, the fallout will be devastating. What do you do when the brutal system that once kept you safe hunts you down? Run.

Review

To come.

About the Author

Kristin is a #1 New York Times and #1 USA Today bestselling author who was born on an Air Force base in Japan and grew up in Oklahoma where she explored everything from tattoo modeling to broadcast journalism. After battling addiction, Kristin made her way to the Pacific Northwest and landed in Portland. She rediscovered her passion for storytelling in the stacks at dusty bookstores and in rickety chairs in old coffeehouses. For as long as she can remember, Kristin’s been telling stories. Thankfully, she’s been writing them down since 2005.

Mood Boards

Tour Schedule

October 12
@thereaderandthechef – Bookstagram + Book Blog

October 13
@of.books.and.bone – Bookstagram

October 14
 @paperfury – Boostagram + Book Blog

October 15
@courtofbingereading – Bookstagram

October 16
@thereadingchemist – Bookstagram + Book Blog

October 17
@theheartisabook – Bookstagram

October 18

@linathebookaddict – Bookstagram + Book Blog

October 19
@ya.its.lit – Bookstagram + Book Blog

October 20
@theladysparks – Bookstagram

October 21
@thereadingcornerforall – Bookstagram + Book Blog

Giveaway

Enter the rafflecopter below for a chance to win a copy of The Key to Fear + a signed bookplate!

a Rafflecopter giveaway https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

Instagram Giveaway

Head over to my Instagram account where you can enter the Instagram tour-wide giveaway for another chance to win a copy of The Key To Fear + signed bookplate! There will be two winners. (Make sure to also check #TheKeyToFearMTMC hashtag for more tour posts!)

View this post on Instagram

🍁 b o o k t o u r & g i v e a w a y 🍁 Today is my stop in the Bookstagram & Creative Tour for The Key To Fear by @kcastauthor! For fans of The Power and The Handmaid's Tale comes a YA Dystopian novel (first in a trilogy) set in a world where touching is forbidden, personal boundaries are valued above all, books are banned, and The Key governs to protect against a deadly virus. Out October 13th, 2020 from Blackstone Publishing! 🍁 Kristin Cast has been one of those authors that I have been following for so long I don’t even remember when I was first introduced to her! So I was beyond excited when I found out about this book because it seems so fresh and yet scarily appropriate for right now! 🍁 INTL TOUR-WIDE GIVEAWAY! Two readers will win a hardcover of The Key To Fear + a signed bookplate! 🍁 HOW TO ENTER – Like & leave a comment!  
- Follow me (ya.it’s.lit), @kcastauthor, @blackstonepublishing & @mtmctours! 🍁 ADDITIONAL ENTRIES: – Tag friends in different comments! – Share this post via stories tagging me, mtmctours & blackstone so we can see it!     – Visit the next tour stop: tomorrow’s host is @theladysparks! 🍁 Ends October 24th, 11:59 PM EST. Winner announced on MTMC Tours' account. (Not affiliated/endorsed by Instagram) 🍁 #TheKeytoFear #TheKeytoFearMTMC #mtmctours #yabooks #yalit #yabookstagram #yaitslit #yareads #bookbloggerslife #bookreviewer #bookstagram #readingtime #booknerd #bookreviewblog #instabooklovers #yacommunity #bookishlove #hereforthebooks #bookrecommendation #bookbloggersofig #readingislife #fortheloveofreading #flickerwix #newreads #bookpic #booknook #bookgiveawat #bookaesthetic #readersofinsta #bookblogger

A post shared by Zoe 🇺🇸 26 (@ya.its.lit) on

*I received a copy in exchange for an honest review*

Vagrant Summer Review

Click the image to see my booksta post!

About the Book

With solidarity and vigor against the rulers of Eden, thirteen-thousand young revolutionaries staged an uprising the likes of which had never been seen in history. Calling themselves the “Causes,” they seek truth, change, and transparency from their government; a powerful council known as the Fifteen.

Two months in, the Revolution eases into a temporary stalemate. Dartmouth–known as “Brigg” among his fellow Causes–continues to enjoy carefree time to himself. Using the Revolution to distance himself from his personal hardships has been working out for him.

His time traveling solo is soon cut short when he crosses paths with an endearing girl named Mika, who has been seeking help in locating her missing father. Unsuccessful thus far, she confides in Dartmouth when he offers to help.

As the two of them become a team, a chain of events is sparked into motion. With their choice, the balance of the Revolution shifts, diplomacy shrivels to chaos, allegiances are shattered, and the course of Eden’s history is affected in ways far beyond what they could ever imagine.

Review

Well this book is coming out at a perfect time! There are so many things in this story that can be related back to our current climate, which also makes the book that much more intense. But make sure that you plenty of time to read this, because you’re not going to want to put it down! There’s so much intensity and action that you’ll be wanting more and more.

This is a dark story that isn’t afraid to get deep and gritty. I mean, there’s a lot at stake, but I don’t want to say too much and give things away. But if you’re a fan of teenagers taking control and overthrowing a terrible dystopian-esque situation then you’re like this! And what I liked best about this book is that the characters aren’t your typical whiney ya type of teenager, they have a purpose and are willing to go to any length.

My only complain is more of just a personal preference. There wasn’t a lot of world building throughout the story, but instead it was used as a plot device to throw some epic curve balls at the end of the book. Now, I’m probably an anomaly in missing this aspect but that’s just because (as I’ve said many times) I grew up on Tolkien and love that aspect of long drivels of lore on the world. But anyways, this was still an amazing review and I cannot wait to see where this story leads!

Teaser Trailer

*I received an arc in exchange for an honest review*