The Woman in the Mirror Review

Click the image to see my booksta post!

About the Book

Haunting and moving, The Woman in the Mirror is a tale of obsession tinged with suspense, perfect for fans of Tracy Rees and Lulu Taylor.

‘You’ll be the woman of this house, next, miss. And you’ll like it.’

1947

Governess Alice Miller loves Winterbourne the moment she sees it. Towering over the Cornish cliffs, its dark corners and tall turrets promise that, if Alice can hide from her ghosts anywhere, it’s here.

And who better to play hide and seek with than twins Constance and Edmund? Angelic and motherless, they are perfect little companions.

2018

Adopted at birth, Rachel’s roots are a mystery. So, when a letter brings news of the death of an unknown relative, Constance de Grey, Rachel travels to Cornwall, vowing to uncover her past.

With each new arrival, something in Winterbourne stirs. It’s hiding in the paintings. It’s sitting on the stairs.

It’s waiting in a mirror, behind a locked door.

Review

HAPPY BOOK BIRTHDAYYYY!!!! This book was EXACTLY what I have been craving lately and every time I put it down I kept going back and thinking about it. The story was just so haunting and beautiful and just perfection!

There’s something about gothic horrors that I just love more than any other type of horror. I mean, don’t get me wrong, horror is one of my favorite genres. But the atmospheric feel that always comes with gothic horrors just draws me in. Then add in the dual timeline as with The Woman in the Mirror and I become obsessed. I mean, I truly cannot praise this book enough! It’s just so spooky and dark and twisted and made me think and just AHH!

But seriously, when I say I thought about this book every time I had to put it down I mean it. It was on my mind constantly. All I wanted to do was read more and devour the story (which I couldn’t because adulting comes with other obligations, boo). But seriously, if you love the gothic horror genre then you most definitely need this book!

About the Author

Rebecca James is the author of BEAUTIFUL MALICE, SWEET DAMAGE and the forthcoming COOPER BARTHOLOMEW IS DEAD. She has worked as a waitress, a kitchen designer, an English teacher in both Indonesia and Japan, a barmaid, and (most memorably) a mini-cab telephone-operator in London. Rebecca lives in Canberra, Australia, with her partner and their four sons.

*I received an arc in exchange for an honest review*