The Queen’s Assassin Tour – Review, Favorite Quotes, Dream Cast, & Giveaway

Click the image to see my booksta post!

About the Book

The Queen’s Assassin (Queen’s Secret #1)

by Melissa de la Cruz
Publisher: G. P. Putnam’s Sons
Release Date: February 4th 2020
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

What’s done is done.

Melissa de la Cruz

Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Red Queen, this is the first novel in a sweeping YA fantasy-romance duet about a deadly assassin, his mysterious apprentice, and the country they are sworn to protect from #1 NYT bestselling author Melissa de la Cruz.

Caledon Holt is the Kingdom of Renovia’s deadliest weapon. No one alive can best him in brawn or brains, which is why he’s the Guild’s most dangerous member and the Queen’s one and only assassin. He’s also bound to the Queen by an impossible vow–to find the missing Deian Scrolls, the fount of all magical history and knowledge, stolen years ago by a nefarious sect called the Aphrasians.

It’s alarming, really, how quickly nice people become ravenous, bloodthirsty.

Melissa de la Cruz

Shadow has been training all her life to follow in the footsteps of her mother and aunts–to become skilled enough to join the ranks of the Guild. Though magic has been forbidden since the Aphrasian uprising, Shadow has been learning to control her powers in secret, hoping that one day she’ll become an assassin as feared and revered as Caledon Holt.

When a surprise attack brings Shadow and Cal together, they’re forced to team up as assassin and apprentice to hunt down a new sinister threat to Renovia. But as Cal and Shadow grow closer, they’ll uncover a shocking web of lies and secrets that may destroy everything they hold dear. With war on the horizon and true love at risk, they’ll stop at nothing to protect each other and their kingdom in this stunning first novel in the Queen’s Secret series.

All the answers you seek are there, but only if you are willing to hear them.

Melissa de la Cruz

Review

Ok, so this book is going to throw a lot at you at once. Just stick with it and slowly all of the places and names will start to make sense! There is a lot of world building thrown at you in the beginning, but if you’re like me you’ll love this aspect of the book (and probably be saying, “I need a map!”). I oftentimes love the first book in a series the most because it sets everything up, and The Queen’s Assassin does just that.

My aunts taught me that sometimes when the world is too much, when life starts to feel overwhelming, we must strip away what’s unnecessary, seek out the quiet, and listen to the dirt and trees.

Melissa de la Cruz

I have to have an honorable mention for the Aunts. They just made me giggle because I kept imagining them as the fairies from Sleeping Beauty mixed with the aunts from Practical Magic. Plus I applaud de la Cruz for casually dropping in that they are married. I wish more books made f/f, m/m, etc. relationships normal! The story alternates perspectives between Cal and Shadow, and honestly I think it’s one of the first times that I personally did not mind the perspective swapping. Typically I don’t like one of the character’s in the alternating perspectives but this time I liked them both (go me!).

For that, I am eternally in his dept. And he’s in desperate need of a friend right now.

Melissa de la Cruz

Melissa de la Cruz is a master at romance, so of course The Queen’s Assassin is no different. If you were a fan of her Blue Bloods series then I definitely think you will enjoy this read! It has all of those classic de la Cruz elements and is definitely written in her style, even if it is a bit more fantasy than some of her other books.

About the Author

Melissa de la Cruz is the New York Times and USA Today best-selling author of many critically acclaimed and award-winning novels for teens including The Au Pairs series, the Blue Bloods series, the Ashleys series, the Angels on Sunset Boulevard series and the semi-autobiographical novel Fresh off the Boat.

Her books for adults include the novel Cat’s Meow, the anthology Girls Who Like Boys Who Like Boys and the tongue-in-chic handbooks How to Become Famous in Two Weeks or Less and The Fashionista Files: Adventures in Four-inch heels and Faux-Pas.

She has worked as a fashion and beauty editor and has written for many publications including The New York Times, Marie Claire, Harper’s Bazaar, Glamour, Cosmopolitan, Allure, The San Francisco Chronicle, McSweeney’s, Teen Vogue, CosmoGirl! and Seventeen. She has also appeared as an expert on fashion, trends and fame for CNN, E! and FoxNews.

Melissa grew up in Manila and moved to San Francisco with her family, where she graduated high school salutatorian from The Convent of the Sacred Heart. She majored in art history and English at Columbia University (and minored in nightclubs and shopping!).

She now divides her time between New York and Los Angeles, where she lives in the Hollywood Hills with her husband and daughter.

Dream Cast

Shadow needed to be tough but also a softie, so I went with Sofia Boutella.

I definitely immediately saw Caledon as my boy Dom.

Every time the aunts were mentioned, I couldn’t help but think of them as the aunts from Practical Magic…. mixed with the three fairies in Sleeping Beauty… The brain is a wondrous thing!

I struggled with the Queen, but I think I made a solid choice.

Tour Schedule

February 4th

The Unofficial Addiction Book Fan Club – Welcome Post

February 5th

The Book Bratz – Review + Playlist + Favourite Quotes
Sometimes Leelynn Reads – Review + Playlist + Dream Cast
Ya It’s Lit  – Review + Dream Cast + Favourite Quotes
Fanna Wants The World To Read – Review
Shelf-Rated – Review + Favourite Quotes

February 6th

NovelKnight – Guest Post
Booked J – Review + Playlist + Favourite Quotes
Whispers & Wonder – Review
Foals, Fiction & Filigree – Review + Favourite Quotes
Beware Of The Reader – Review

February 7th

Wishful Endings – Interview
L.M. Durand – Review
Ideally Inspired Reviews – Review + Favourite Quotes
Gwendalyn’s Books – Review + Favourite Quotes
Cluttered Books – Review + Favourite Quotes

February 8th

Bookish Looks – Guest Post
Star-Crossed Book Blog – Review + Favourite Quotes
Morgan Vega – Review + Favourite Quotes
Inky Moments – Review
mabookyard – Review + Favourite Quotes
The.magicalpages – Review + Favourite Quotes

February 9th

Belle’s Archive – Review + Favourite Quotes
Shalini’s Books & Reviews – Review
Dazzled by Books – Review + Favourite Quotes
Pretty Little Bibliophile – Review + Favourite Quotes
dinipandareads – Review + Favourite Quotes

February 10th

Kait Plus Books – Interview
Library of a Book Witch – Review
The Reading Corner for All – Review + Favourite Quotes
Confessions of a YA Reader – Review + Favourite Quotes
The Shelf Life Chronicles – Review

Giveaway

Prize: Win a copy of THE QUEEN’S ASSASSIN by Melissa de la Cruz (US Only)
Starts: 4th February 2020
Ends: 18th February 2020

<a class="rcptr" href="http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/d9681b86455/" rel="nofollow" data-raflid="d9681b86455" data-theme="classic" data-template="" id="rcwidget_fp9eeh7n">a Rafflecopter giveaway</a>
https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

Instagram Schedule

February 4th

The FFBC Tours
TUABFC

February 5th

Sometimes Leelynn Reads
Ya It’s Lit
Shelf-Rated

February 6th

NovelKnight
Booked J
Whispers & Wonder
Foals, Fiction & Filigree

February 7th

Wishful Endings
L.M. Durand
Ideally Inspired Reviews
Gwendalyn’s Books

February 8th

Bookish Looks
Star-Crossed Book Blog
Morgan Vega
Inky Moments
mabookyard
The.magicalpages

February 9th

Belle’s Archive
Shalini’s Books & Reviews
Dazzled by Books
Pretty Little Bibliophile

February 10th

Kait Plus Books
Library of a Book Witch
The Reading Corner for All
Confessions of a YA Reader
The Shelf Life Chronicles

Instagram Giveaway

View this post on Instagram

🌼 g i v e a w a y 🌼 Ok, so this book is going to throw a lot at you at once. Just stick with it and slowly all of the places and names will start to make sense! There is a lot of world building thrown at you in the beginning, but if you're like me you'll love this aspect of the book (and probably be saying, "I need a map!"). I oftentimes love the first book in a series the most because it sets everything up, and The Queen's Assassin does just this. (Full review and extra giveaway entries on my blog, link in bio!) 🌼 QOTD | Would you be an assassin or assassinated? @prideandpamper code: YAITSLIT10 🌼 We are giving away 1 finished copy of THE QUEEN'S ASSASSIN by Melissa de la Cruz (US Only). The giveaway will start on FEBRUARY 4th 2020 and will ‪finish on FEBRUARY 18th 2020 (00:00 GMT+1‬). 🌼 Entries: ▪︎Follow @theffbc & @whatmakespatri ▪︎Follow the author @authormelissadelacruz ▪︎Follow the publishing house (@penguinteen) & the literary agent (@mbc_books). ▪︎Follow me (@ya.its.lit) ▪︎Answer the QOTD and tag @theffbc in your comment to register your entry! 🌼 Extra Entries: ▪︎Tag a friend (each friend will be an extra entry). ▪︎Share on your stories about the giveaway (remember to tag @ya.its.lit, @whatmakespatri and @theffbc) ▪︎Follow @michellesulk & @artsyreadergirl ▪︎Follow any other FFBC team member participating in the tour (let us know on the comment section who did you follow). Check everyone's Instagram handles in the comments! 🌼 #yabooks #yalit #yabookstagram #yaitslit #yareads #bookbloggerslife #bookreviewer #bookstagram #yafantasy #prideandpamper #bookreviewblog #booksharks #instabooklovers #yacommunity #bookishlove #hereforthebooks #bookstaunited #bookbloggersofig #readingislife #btabookfriends #bookphotography #bookstamisfits #bookishmerch #bookiehelper #bookstagramfeatures #readersofinsta #bookblogger #thequeensassassin #melissadelacruz #penguinteen

A post shared by Zoe 🇺🇸 26 (@ya.its.lit) on

For this particular giveaway, we have an exclusive Instagram. We are giving away 1 finished copy of THE QUEEN’S ASSASSIN by Melissa de la Cruz (US Only). The giveaway will start on FEBRUARY 4th 2020 and will finish on FEBRUARY 18th 2020 (00:00 GMT+1).  

Entries for the giveaway:

On Instagram:
▪︎Follow @theffbc & @whatmakespatri
▪︎Follow the author @authormelissadelacruz
▪︎Follow the publishing house (@penguinteen) & the literary agent (@mbc_books).
▪︎Follow me (@ya.its.lit)
▪︎Answer the QOTD and tag @theffbc in your comment to register your entry!

Extra entries:

On Instagram:
▪︎Tag a friend (each friend will be an extra entry).
▪︎Share on your stories about the giveaway (remember to tag @ya.its.lit, @whatmakespatri and @theffbc)
▪︎Follow @michellesulk & @artsyreadergirl
▪︎Follow any other FFBC team member participating in the tour (let us know on the comment section who did you follow). Check everyone’s Instagram handles on the Instagram tour schedule!

▪︎Giveaway ends on February 18th (00:00 GMT+1). 1 winner will be chosen on @theffbc.
▪︎Open to residents of US only

The winner will be announced after FEBRUARY 20TH 2020 on our Instagram stories. ONLY 1 WINNER. OPEN US ONLY. The winner will be contacted via Instagram.