Glimpsed Tour – Review

About the Book

Glimpsed
By G.F. Miller
Published by Simon & Schuster
Released on January 5th, 2021
YOUNG ADULT FICTION–Contemporary, Romance, Fantasy

Perfect for fans of Geekerella and Jenn Bennett, this charming, sparkly rom-com follows a wish-granting teen forced to question if she’s really doing good—and if she has the power to make her own dreams come true.

Charity is a fairy godmother. She doesn’t wear a poofy dress or go around waving a wand, but she does make sure the deepest desires of the student population at Jack London High School come true. And she knows what they want even better than they do because she can glimpse their perfect futures.

But when Charity fulfills a glimpse that gets Vibha crowned homecoming queen, it ends in disaster. Suddenly, every wish Charity has ever granted is called into question. Has she really been helping people? Where do these glimpses come from, anyway? What if she’s not getting the whole picture?

Making this existential crisis way worse is Noah—the adorkable and (in Charity’s opinion) diabolical ex of one of her past clients—who blames her for sabotaging his prom plans and claims her interventions are doing more harm than good. He demands that she stop granting wishes and help him get his girl back. At first, Charity has no choice but to play along. But soon, Noah becomes an unexpected ally in getting to the bottom of the glimpses. Before long, Charity dares to call him her friend…and even starts to wish he were something more. But can the fairy godmother ever get the happily ever after?

Review

Can I just say, isn’t this book too cute?! I mean, not only is the cover beyond adorable, but so is the plot! And it’s just one of those reads that you pick up and have fun reading. And it truly is unique. Which I am all about nowadays. I love that this is a fairy tale but in the sense that it’s focused on a fairy godmother because it gives me some Ella Enchanted (which will ALWAYS be one of my favorite books/movies) vibes in a round about way.

I don’t know what else to call this book other than sweet. Not only the plot, but the characters are just the perfect combination of spunky, dorky, and imperfect in all the growing up ways. And the romance is so perfect and it was just so delightful to watch (read?) that blossom. And the cherry on top is that this book is funny! It has a quick wit throughout that will just keep making you giggle as you read.

Ok, is my review a little bit of a rambling mess? Yes. But I think you get the picture. But in case you don’t let me just try and summarize it. Glimpsed is on of those perfectly magical books that will take you on a truly enjoyable journey. It’s beyond unique and perfectly written for young adult readers and fans of the genre.

About the Author

G.F. Miller absolutely insists on a happy ending. Everything else is negotiable. Her wish is to go everywhere—and when a plane ticket isn’t available, books fill the gaps. She cries at all the wrong times. She makes faces at herself in the mirror. She believes in the Oxford comma. And she’s always here for a dance party.

Tour Schedule

January 19th

Turn the Page Tours – Welcome Post
Buried in Books – Review
Jena Brown Writes – Review & Favorite Quotes

January 20th

Books are Magic Too – Review
Windows to Worlds – Review, Favorite Quotes & Author Interview
readingatmypace – Review

January 21st

Ruei’s Reading Corner – Review
Lost in Neverland – Review

January 22nd

Luminosity Library – Review, Favorite Quotes & Author Interview
Tirabookreviews – Review

January 23rd

The Momma Spot – Review
Lady Readsalot – Review
The Scribe Owl – Spotlight

January 24th

Whimsical Blessings – Author Interview
Baltimore Bibliophile – Review

January 25th

Ya It’s Lit – Review
Curly Book Owls – Review

Giveaway

For this tour, we have THREE (3) separate giveaways! Up for grabs, we have ONE (1) signed copy of Glimpsed by G.F. Miller (available to US only), TWO (2) EXCLUSIVE chapters from Noah’s POV, and a Skype or Zoom visit with the author (both available to INTL)! This will run from January 19th to January 26th at 11:59 PM CST. To enter this giveaway, click the link below!

*I received an ebook in exchange for an honest review*

Magic Dark and Strange Review

Click the image to see my booksta post!

About the Book

The Bone Witch meets Sherlock Holmes in this thrilling historical fantasy about a girl with the ability to raise the dead who must delve into her city’s dangerous magical underworld to stop a series of murders.

Catherine Daly has an unusual talent. By day she works for a printer. But by night, she awakens the dead for a few precious moments with loved ones seeking a final goodbye. But this magic comes with a price: for every hour that a ghost is brought back, Catherine loses an hour from her own life.

When Catherine is given the unusual task of collecting a timepiece from an old grave, she is sure that the mysterious item must contain some kind of enchantment. So she enlists Guy Nolan, the watchmaker’s son, to help her dig it up. But instead of a timepiece, they find a surprise: the body of a teenage boy. And as they watch, he comes back to life—not as the pale imitation that Catherine can conjure, but as a living, breathing boy. A boy with no memory of his past.

This magic is more powerful than any Catherine has ever encountered, and revealing it brings dangerous enemies. Catherine and Guy must race to unravel the connection between the missing timepiece and the undead boy. For this mysterious magic could mean the difference between life and death—for all of them.

Review

Another book, another review, and another one that is perfect for spooky season! AND, it has necromancy! I have a special place in my heart for my love of all things dead and necromancy related (sounds weirder aloud/written than I thought) so, as you can guess, I was so excited for this little gem of a book!

The only bad thing about this book is that it’s so short! I just want MORE (I like me a thicc book)! But it also makes it sort of special that it’s all wrapped up in a small little bow. While I love a little more world building, I also appreciated how everything in the book seemed so natural. The magic wasn’t necessarily explained, but it all made sense and the characters all fit with it. And it was a fun cast of characters that set off on this adventure.

This book is a fun and lush read! It’s one that you can curl up with for the evening and quickly devour. A nice story to take your mind away into a world of dark magic and adventure. And like I said, it’s spooky season so that’s reason enough to read this book!

About the Author

Kelly Powell writes fantasy for young adults and currently lives in Ontario, Canada. She has a bachelor’s degree in history and book & media studies from the University of Toronto.

*I received an arc in exchange for an honest review!*

The Black Kids Tour – Review & Favorite Quotes

Click the image to see my booksta post!

About the Book

Perfect for fans of The Hate U Give, this unforgettable coming-of-age debut novel explores issues of race, class, and violence through the eyes of a wealthy black teenager whose family gets caught in the vortex of the 1992 Rodney King Riots.

We’re here. We’re alive, and we got each other. We keep surviving. That’s not nothing, right?

Christina Hammonds Reed

Los Angeles, 1992

No, I don’t care about any of it now. But I will.

Christina Hammonds Reed

Ashley Bennett and her friends are living the charmed life. It’s the end of senior year and they’re spending more time at the beach than in the classroom. They can already feel the sunny days and endless possibilities of summer.

Everything changes one afternoon in April, when four LAPD officers are acquitted after beating a black man named Rodney King half to death. Suddenly, Ashley’s not just one of the girls. She’s one of the black kids.

As violent protests engulf LA and the city burns, Ashley tries to continue on as if life were normal. Even as her self-destructive sister gets dangerously involved in the riots. Even as the model black family façade her wealthy and prominent parents have built starts to crumble. Even as her best friends help spread a rumor that could completely derail the future of her classmate and fellow black kid, LaShawn Johnson.

You’re more than your mistakes.

Christina Hammonds Reed

With her world splintering around her, Ashley, along with the rest of LA, is left to question who is the us? And who is the them?

Review

What a poignant and (sadly) extremely prevalent book for right now. Seriously, this book made me stop so many times and take a moment to reflect and think about how important the passage I just read was. Even though this is a historical fiction (and I’m still in denial that the 90s are historical, I swear they were just yesterday), the book feels current. Which is both a sad thing, given the topic, and really quite interesting. It also reiterates my feeling of the 90s being yesterday.

When you get used to bad men, you start not believing in good men. Even when they’re right in front of your face. You think maybe he’s hiding the bad for later, like the last one.

Christina Hammonds Reed

So, I want to start off by talking about the good and happy things. Because I think we all need a little bit of that dashed in right now. I love that this book is set in the not so distant past. It’s a wonderful little throw back and mini historical fiction, but it still covers the prominent events of the time. And I just love how real the characters are. They’re teenagers dealing with awful and scary things, but even through all of the hurt they take the time to act their age and do regular teenager-y things. And I think that is so important to depict, because amidst all of the bad things life does go on and it’s important to not forget about that.

One woman will cry and one woman will laugh, and their voices will echo off the walls so that you won’t be sure which one of them is doing which.

Christina Hammonds Reed

I think what I loved most about this book is that it was a story based off of the characters. We get a look into the historical events and protesting that was going on during the time through the lens of a few designated individuals. And to me this just made the story and the events more realistic and more personal. It helps to put a face to who was impacted, who got away with evil deeds, and who did not get so lucky. This is definitely a book that it going to be extremely important to many people and it will also hopefully shed some light on what it means to be black in America.

About the Author

Christina Hammonds Reed holds an MFA in Film and Television Production from the University of Southern California’s School of Cinematic Arts. Her short fiction has previously appeared in the Santa Monica Review. She lives in Hermosa Beach, CA.

*I received an arc in exchange for an honest review*