The Inheritance Games Review

Click the image to see my booksta post!

About the Book

A Cinderella story with deadly stakes and thrilling twists, perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying and Knives Out.

Avery Grambs has a plan for a better future: survive high school, win a scholarship, and get out. But her fortunes change in an instant when billionaire Tobias Hawthorne dies and leaves Avery virtually his entire fortune. The catch? Avery has no idea why–or even who Tobias Hawthorne is. To receive her inheritance, Avery must move into sprawling, secret passage-filled Hawthorne House, where every room bears the old man’s touch–and his love of puzzles, riddles, and codes.

Unfortunately for Avery, Hawthorne House is also occupied by the family that Tobias Hawthorne just dispossessed. This includes the four Hawthorne grandsons: dangerous, magnetic, brilliant boys who grew up with every expectation that one day, they would inherit billions. Heir apparent Grayson Hawthorne is convinced that Avery must be a con-woman, and he’s determined to take her down. His brother, Jameson, views her as their grandfather’s last hurrah: a twisted riddle, a puzzle to be solved. Caught in a world of wealth and privilege, with danger around every turn, Avery will have to play the game herself just to survive.

Review

Cinderella meets Knives Out?! YES PLEASE! I mean, Cinderella is and will always be a classic, but gimme those EXTRA high stakes! And alllll the action and puzzles! I’m just obsessed with everything about this! And yeah, reading it didn’t disappoint either! There was so much mystery and intensity throughout the book that it will leave you flipping the pages needing more!

So yeah, there’s a lot that happens in this book and it comes down to the mastermind of Tobias Hawthorne. What a legend of an old man and what a way to pass on your inheritance! I mean puzzles, clues, and mysteries that must be solved in order to earn the inheritance? Just genius. And the characters! YES! But I literally don’t want to give anything away, so just take my excitement for reason enough to read this book.

This is a high stakes rags to riches story that gives you everything you want! There’s action and mystery and a splendid cast of characters. I went into this with high hopes and it really blew all my expectations out of the water. It’s both a fun read and and exciting one that younger and older audiences alike will fall in love with.

About the Author

Jennifer Lynn Barnes (who mostly goes by Jen) was born in Tulsa, Oklahoma. She has been, in turn, a competitive cheerleader, a volleyball player, a dancer, a debutante, a primate cognition researcher, a teen model, a comic book geek, and a lemur aficionado. She’s been writing for as long as she can remember, finished her first full book (which she now refers to as a “practice book” and which none of you will ever see) when she was still in high school, and then wrote Golden the summer after her freshman year in college, when she was nineteen.

Jen graduated high school in 2002, and from Yale University with a degree in cognitive science (the study of the brain and thought) in May of 2006. She’ll be spending the 2006-2007 school year abroad, doing autism research at the University of Cambridge in the United Kingdom.

*I received a copy in exchange for an honest review*