Curse of the Divine Tour – Review

Click the image to see my booksta post!

About the Book

Book 2 of Ink in the Blood
Publication Date: February 9th, 2020
Publisher: HMH Books

Return to the world of inklings, tattoo magic, and evil deities as Celia uncovers the secrets of the ink in order to stop Diavala once and for all. This eagerly anticipated sequel to Ink in the Blood is perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Wicked Saints.

Celia Sand faced Diavala and won, using ink magic to destroy the corrupt religion of Profeta that tormented her for a decade. But winning came with a cost. Now Celia is plagued with guilt over her role in the death of her best friend. When she discovers that Diavala is still very much alive and threatening Griffin, the now-infamous plague doctor, Celia is desperate not to lose another person she loves to the deity’s wrath.

The key to destroying Diavala may lie with Halycon Ronnea, the only other person to have faced Diavala and survived. But Halcyon is dangerous and has secrets of his own, ones that involve the ink that Celia has come to hate. Forced to choose between the ink and Diavala, Celia will do whatever it takes to save Griffin—even if it means making a deal with the devil himself.

Review

You know, I was extremely eager to read this series for the interesting magic system alone. Well, that and the covers. I loveeeee the covers. And I have to delightedly say that these books have no disappointed! I find that a lot of the time I’m swayed into books and get overly excited and then they just don’t live up to that excitement. So, in sense, I get even more excited when books actually do what I wanted them to! So on that note, psst, go read these.

While I really loved the second book in this duology I have to admit that it took me a smidge to get back into. I don’t know if it’s just because it’s been a while since I’ve been in this world or if it just had a slower start than the first book, but once I did get fully invested I fell just as much in love with it as I had while reading the first book. There was also so much more that this book was able to bring since we are already familiar with the world and magic system. And you know I love when books get a chance to expand on what we already know.

This series was honestly one of my biggest highlights recently. I think I’ve just been hitting so many slumps lately that when I find a book that really hits all of the marks I get that much more excited. But then again I also REALLY always love duologies. So I guess it just had that right combination to make me fall in love.

About the Author

Kim Smejkal writes dark fantasy for young adults and not-so-young adults, always with a touch of magic. Her debut novel, INK IN THE BLOOD, released from HMH in early 2020, and the sequel, CURSE OF THE DIVINE, will release on Feb. 9, 2021.

When she’s not writing, she’s homeschooling her kids, tutoring other people’s kids, and voraciously hoarding any precious alone time. Though she grew up on the Canadian prairies, she now lives with her family on beautiful, muse-satiating Vancouver Island. She is represented by Daniel Lazar of Writers House.

Tour Schedule

Feb 15th

The Baroness of Books – Welcome Post
Day Leitao – Spotlight Post
Geekiemind – Review

Feb 16th

The Clever Reader – Guest Post
Pop Reads Reviews – Review

Feb 17th

Musings of Souls – Review, Interview
PopTheButterfly Reads – Review

Feb 18th

Kait Plus Books – Interview
Avni Reads – Review

Feb 19th

Ya It’s Lit – Review

Instagram Tour Schedule

Feb 15th

@book_baroness – Welcome Post
@chroniclesofkayy
@the_reading_prince

Feb 16th

@thecleverreader
@_popreads_

Feb 17th

@yourlocalbookreader
@a_bookish_dream

Feb 18th

@onemused
@avnireads

Feb 19th

@ya.its.lit
@bargain.and.books
@rampant_reading

*I received an arc in exchange for an honest review*