Magic by Midnight Tour – Review, Creative, & Giveaway

Click on the image to see my booksta post!

About the Book

Title: Magic by Midnight
Series: The Librarian’s Chronicles #1
Author: Allison Bass
Publishing Date: July 1st, 2019
Genres: YA Fantasy/Retelling

Felicity, a young librarian, is certain her only adventures will come in the form of the books she reads. When her uncle reveals that the palace librarians have the secret gift of interpreting fairy tales, stories that control the fate of the kingdom, she is thrust into a new world of magic. Between rescuing Cinderella, charming a prince, and battling an evil force trying to sabotage the fairy tale, Felicity realizes orchestrating a happily ever after ending is going to take all of her wits.

However, it’s her heart that is put to the real test. She finds herself having to choose between her own happy ending or protecting the fairy tale she’s been tasked with completing. After the clock strikes midnight, Felicity discovers her world will change forever and some fates are stronger than magic.

Review

What do librarians and magic have in common with me? An easy hook to make me NEED it. Magic by Midnight was just such a delightful read that gave me both of those aspects and then some! Plus it has the whole fairy tale aspect! And while I say I’m a snob regarding fairy tale retellings, I generally wind up liking the ones I pick up. I was especially happy since this wasn’t another Beauty and the Beast retelling, but the featured fairy tale was Cinderella.

It’s been a while since I’ve read a fantasy book, which is a shock since it’s my favorite genre, so I was really excited to pick up this one for my stop on the tour! And it was the perfect book for my cravings because it had all of my favorite fantastical elements! Plus it was just such a fun read, which is another really important thing for me right now. I have been needing things that just take my mind off of everything.

I also really loved all of the characters. They were all so quirky and snarky and unique and cinnamon-bun-y. But even the side characters tried to steal the show. Which, I love when I can love side characters! Everything just came together wonderfully and it was such a fun read!

About the Author

Allison grew up a voracious reader who daydreamed about stories filled with romance, adventure, and magic. One day, she decided to put those stories on paper. Her debut novel Magic by Midnight is the result. Like any 21st century fairy tale heroine, she met her own prince via the Internet. They do not live in a castle, but they have a beagle who acts like a court jester. When she’s not spending time with her husband and son, she enjoys finding new stories for her personal library.

Tour Schedule

April 13
@thereaderandthechef – Bookstagram + Blog

April 14
@storybookend – Bookstagram

April 15
@paperfury – Bookstagram + Blog

April 16
@old.enough.for.fairytales – Bookstagram

April 17
@l.m.durand – Bookstagram + Blog

April 18
@bibliophilic_ferret – Bookstagram

April 19
@myhoneyreads – Bookstagram + Blog

April 20
@womanon – Bookstagram

April 21
@ya.its.lit – Bookstagram + Blog

April 22
@rebireads – Bookstagram

Mood Boards

Giveaway

Blog Giveaway! Enter the rafflecopter below to win a kindle copy of Magic by Midnight!

<a class="rcptr" href="http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/2aeeb25b68/" rel="nofollow" data-raflid="2aeeb25b68" data-theme="classic" data-template="" id="rcwidget_yg1hayrv">a Rafflecopter giveaway</a>
<script src="https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js"></script>

Instagram Giveaway

Head over to my Instagram account to win a copy of Magic by Midnight!
And make sure to visit all the Instagram stops for MORE chances to win. Each host is giving away a copy!

*I received a copy in exchange for an honest review*

Spellhacker Tour – Review, Creative, & Giveaway

Click the image to see my booksta post!

Hi everyone! Today I’m excited to participate in the bookstagram & creative blog tour for SPELLHACKER by M.K. England hosted by MTMC Tours! Packed with high-stakes action, humor, and hijinks, this genre-bending YA fantasy from the author of The Disasters is about a heist gone wrong in a futuristic world with hi-tech magic. Published on January 21st, 2020 from HarperTeen! Check below my tour stop and make sure to visit all the bookstagram & creative stops for a chance to win the two international giveaways!

About the Book

Title: Spellhacker
Author: M.K. England
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publishing Date: January 21st, 2020
Genres: YA Fantasy/Sci-Fi
ISBN: 0062657704
Buy: Author’s Website

Packed with high-stakes action, humor, and hijinks, this genre-bending YA fantasy from the author of The Disasters is perfect for fans of Marie Lu and Amie Kaufman.

In Kyrkarta, magic—better known as maz—was once a freely available natural resource. Then an earthquake released a magical plague, killing thousands and opening the door for a greedy corporation to make maz a commodity that’s tightly controlled—and, of course, outrageously expensive.

Which is why Diz and her three best friends run a highly lucrative, highly illegal maz siphoning gig on the side. Their next job is supposed to be their last heist ever. But when their plan (literally) blows up in their faces, they’re driven to unravel a conspiracy at the very center of the spellplague—and possibly save the world. No pressure.

With a diverse cast, infinite wit, and a fresh take on magic, Spellhacker will keep readers on the edge of their seats from start to explosive finish.

Review

Wow, what an amazingly fun and fast paced read! Spellhacker is such a unique and interesting read. This was one of those books where as soon as I started it I knew it would be an “easy” read. Now, I say easy in that it is one of those reads where it’s purely just an enjoyment to read. The writing is quirky, the characters are diverse and unique, and the premise is amazing.

So, for starters the magic in this books is really interesting. It is known as maz and can be wielded by some on their own and others through the use of technology. It was once basically a natural resource, but a plague from the maz following an earthquake allowed for a company to take it over and sell it for exorbitant amounts of money.

As you can probably tell by now, this book is a dystopian read. But it is a combo dystopian, sci-fi, and fantasy read. I don’t know, it’s hard to describe because the book feels like it is something new.

I’ve also got to point out that the representation in this book is amazing! The characters have flaws that make them into who they are. It has a queer non-binary romance. Plus it involves heists, which are always an amazing plot choice! So, I definitely recommend you check it out if you are looking for something utterly unique with primarily sapphic representation!

Creative

Firaz:

Terraz:

Wataz:

Aeraz:

Nullaz:

About the Author

M.K. England is an author and YA librarian who grew up on the Space Coast of Florida and now calls small town rural Virginia home. When she’s not writing or librarianing, MK can be found drowning in fandom, rolling dice at the Dungeons & Dragons table, digging in the garden, or feeding her video game addiction. She loves Star Wars with a desperate, heedless passion. It’s best if you never speak of Sherlock Holmes in her presence. You’ll regret it. She is also the author of THE DISASTERS.

Giveaway

Enter the Rafflecopter below to win a $10 USD Amazon Gift Card!

<a class="rcptr" href="http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/2aeeb25b64/" rel="nofollow" data-raflid="2aeeb25b64" data-theme="classic" data-template="" id="rcwidget_pku721s9">a Rafflecopter giveaway</a>
<script src="https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js"></script>

Instagram Giveaway

Head over to my Instagram account where ONE winner will win: A hardcover copy of Spellhacker + all of the preorder goodies (bookmark, postcard, sticker & signed bookplate). Open INTL!

(And don’t miss out the rest of the tour stops to get more chances to win!!!)

View this post on Instagram

🌼 g i v e a w a y 🌼 Welcome to my stop in the bookstagram & creative tour for Spellhacker by @m.k.england! Packed with high-stakes action, humor, and hijinks, this genre-bending YA fantasy from the author of The Disasters is about a heist gone wrong in a futuristic world with hi-tech magic. Out now from @epicreads! 🌼 Wow, what an amazingly fun and fast paced read! Spellhacker is such a unique and interesting read. This was one of those books where as soon as I started it I knew it would be an "easy" read. Now, I say easy in that it is one of those reads where it's purely just an enjoyment to read. The writing is quirky, the characters are diverse and unique, and the premise is amazing. (full review and giveaway on my blog, link in bio!) 🌼 INTL Tour-Wide Giveaway: During this tour, you can win a copy of Spellhacker from Book Depository + all of the preorder goodies: bookmark, postcard, sticker & signed bookplate! 🌼 How to enter: – Like this photo – Follow me, @m.k.england and @epicreads! – Leave a comment (so we can track your entry!) 🌼 Extra entries: – Tag friends who might want to enter in a DIFFERENT comment! (Up to 3 comments) – Follow @mtmctours and say if you do. – Visit the next tour stop to get more entries! Tomorrow’s host is @b.b.lynnreads 🌼 Rules: ‪Ends February 8th at 11:59pm EST. Not affiliated nor endorsed by Instagram.‬ 🌼 #spellhacker #mkengland #spellhackermtmc #yabooks #yalit #yabookstagram #yaitslit #yareads #bookbloggerslife #bookreviewer #yafantasy #bookreviewblog #booksharks #instabooklovers #yacommunity #bookishlove #hereforthebooks #bookstaunited #bookbloggersofig #readingislife #btabookfriends #bookstamisfits #mtmctours #bookiehelper #bookishphotography #bookstagramfeatures #yasciencefiction #bookaesthetic #readersofinsta #bookblogger

A post shared by Zoe 🇺🇸 26 (@ya.its.lit) on

Tour Schedule

January 27
@thereaderandthechef – Bookstagram + Blog

January 28
@timeladyjess – Bookstagram

January 29
@paperfury – Bookstagram + Blog

January 30
@bookwnoname – Bookstagram

January 31
@borgprincess – Bookstagram + Blog

February 1
@AlltheBooksandChocolate – Bookstagram

February 2
@ya.its.lit – Bookstagram + Blog

February 3
@b.b.lynnreads – Bookstagram

February 4
@ernest.bookingway – Bookstagram + Blog

February 5
@ly_brary – Bookstagram

Hosted by:

*I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review*