The Tinderbox: Soldier of Indira Review

Click the image to see my booksta post!

About the Book

From the imagination of actor Lou Diamond Phillips (La Bamba, Prodigal Son) comes an epic and unforgettable Science Fiction Fantasy tale.

Two worlds at war will bring them together… or tear them apart…

Everson didn’t want to be a soldier. His parents forced him to serve, as all good Indiran men should. The only problem? His first battle against their mortal enemies goes horribly wrong and he winds up stranded on the enemy planet.

Now, Everson has to survive in this strange new land where everyone is out to get him. Not to mention, the planet Mano is covered in unforgiving desert. And he’s the target of traitors who want to use him in a dastardly plot to overthrow their mad king, Xander the Firm, by having him retrieve a piece of mysterious and powerful ancient technology known as the Tinderbox.

But everything changes during a chance encounter with the king’s daughter, Allegra. Despite her station, she’s in as grave of danger from her own people as Everson is. And though their peoples have been at odds for centuries, an unlikely spark forms between them.

As their worlds come crashing down around them, their forbidden love might be the only chance to end this war forever. Or, it might just be the doom of everyone…

Imagine the intrigue of Game of Thrones mixed with the star-crossed romance of Romeo and Juliet… but in space! Inspired by Hans Christian Andersen’s famous fairy tale of the same name, Soldier of Indira is perfect for fans of Dune, Aurora Rising, and Stardust.

Review

Have I mentioned that I love fantasy and sci-fi mixed together into one book? Because I do. And I just knew that I would love this book because of that. But even outside of that I just really loved this story! It was a fun read and it was just so well written! Plus who wouldn’t be excited to see what Lou Diamond Phillips comes up with?

There were so many different elements to praise about this story, but the world building in this book is of course my favorite aspect. I can’t help but love some good world building! There’s just so much detail about all aspects of life in this world and it really helps transport you to the setting of the story. But even outside of this there is that ephemeral quality to the book as you go through this riveting story.

This is a great book that has a little bit of something for everyone. It’s the perfect blend of sci-fi and fantasy mixed with excellent storytelling. And it’s even got the fairy tale elements for those who love retellings! It’s a book you can sit and relax with as you explore new worlds.

About the Author

Louis Diamond Phillips is a Filipino American actor and film director. His breakthrough came when he starred as Ritchie Valens in the biographical drama film La Bamba (1987). For the Academy Award-nominated Stand and Deliver (1988), Phillips was nominated for a Golden Globe Award and won an Independent Spirit Award. He made his Broadway debut with the 1996 revival of The King and I, earning a Tony Award nomination for his portrayal of King Mongkut of Siam. Phillips’ other notable films include Young Guns (1988), Young Guns II (1990), Courage Under Fire (1996), The Big Hit (1998), Brokedown Palace (1999), Che (2008), and The 33 (2015). In the television series Longmire, he played a main character named Henry Standing Bear.

*I received a copy in exchange for an honest review*

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s