That’s Not a Thing Tour – Review

Click the image to see my booksta post!

About the Book

Meredith Altman’s engagement to Wesley Latner ended in spectacular disaster—one that shattered her completely. Years have passed since then, and now she’s about to marry Aaron Rapp, a former Ivy League football player and baby-saving doctor. As they celebrate their engagement at a new TriBeCa hotspot, Meredith is stunned to find the restaurant owner is none other than Wesley, the man she is still secretly trying to forget. 

When Meredith learns that Wesley has been diagnosed with ALS, her feelings about their past become all the more confusing. As she spends more time with Wesley and is pulled further under his spell, she discovers what kind of man her new fiancé really is—and what kind of woman she wants to be.

Praise for That’s Not a Thing

“Exploring the messy concept of closure, this is a charmingly witty novel that fans of Emily Belden’s Hot Mess (2019) and J. Ryan Stradal’s The Lager Queen of Minnesota (2019) will eat up.”―Booklist

“In That’s Not a Thing, Friedland has created a delightful and generous novel about the type of love that never leaves us and the people we hope to become in the aftermath.”―Laura Dave, international best-selling author of Eight Hundred Grapes

“An open-hearted lawyer is forced to choose between her fiance and her dying ex in Friedland’s novel about love and forgiveness…A complex and compelling romance…”―Kirkus Reviews

“This tender, introspective romance from Friedland hangs on the difficult choice between new and old lovers…Fans of sensitively handled love triangles should snap this one up.”―Publishers Weekly

“In life’s journey, there are many types of love we encounter along the way―first love, rebound love, the one-who-got-away love, ‘B’sherit’ (soulmate) love, and conflict love (the one in your bed, the one in your head) . . . Friedland, with her fabulous descriptions and compelling characters, presents a little bit of everything in this emotionally-gripping tale that examines love, loss, loyalty, what ifs, what is, and ultimately, forgiveness. Protagonist Meredith Altman is my kinda girl―complicated, inspiring, and richly-drawn. That’s Not a Thing has the unputdownable Jojo Moyes ‘It Factor’ that keeps those pages turning and burning bright … long after lights-out.”―Lisa Barr, award-winning author of The Unbreakables

“Fun, flirty and fabulous…I devoured this read!”―Stephanie Evanovich, New York Times best-selling author of Big Girl Panties and The Sweet Spot

“Friedland’s That’s Not a Thing is an unputdownable tale of old love meets new. Heartrending and evocative, this beautifully woven story captures the deep-seated emotions we carry―those of guilt, forgiveness, and what it means to be there for those we love. Friedland’s sharp writing and emotional depth will leave you turning the pages, ending with a satisfying, albeit bittersweet conclusion.”―Rochelle Weinstein, USA Today best-selling author of This Is Not How It Ends

“Jacqueline Friedland is at the top of her game with this wholly engrossing page-turner about the complexities of love, loss, and loyalty. With richly drawn characters and a gripping plot, That’s Not a Thing is undoubtedly THE thing to pack in your beach bag or pick for your book club. Friedland has done it again―another must-read!”―Amy Blumenfeld, award-winning author of The Cast

“Fans of Jojo Moyes and Karma Brown will simply love Jacqueline Friedland’s romantic, poignant novel, That’s Not A Thing. In this dramatic and insightful story, Friedland explores tragedy, true love, and life’s many ‘what ifs’.”―Amy Poeppel, author of Limelight and Small Admissions

“Fans of Emily Giffin will love this romantic novel . . .” ―Betches, “20 Books to Read in 2020”

Review

What happens when the one who got away walks back into your life? Well, that is the question Friedland aims to answer in That’s Not a Thing. This is such an interesting story on relationships and the decisions we make when it comes to love. The story is written beautifully and we get a whole look at the characters as the book is split into two different times.

This book really makes you think and feel. I mean, you truly have to put yourself in the characters shoes and think, “huh, what on earth would I do in this situation?” And apart from the book being a thought provoker, it’s also just a really moving and touching story. Sometimes life doesn’t go as planned and we are forced to take a step back and re-evaluate our lives, and that’s what this book aims to tell a story about.

I really appreciated that this book had two different timelines. I think that it helped flesh out the story and helped to make sense of the present. It also helped show how we change as people over time and how our feelings evolve and develop. Overall this really was a great book that looks into us as people and how others can change us. Sometimes Meredith’s actions can be frustrating, but that is how we all are. Sometimes we make frustrating or stupid mistakes.

About the Author

Jacqueline Friedland holds a BA from the University of Pennsylvania and a JD from NYU Law School. She practiced as an attorney in New York before returning to school to receive her MFA from Sarah Lawrence College. She lives in New York with her husband, four children, and two overly pampered dogs.

Tour Schedule

June 1st – Nurse Bookie https://instagram.com/nurse_bookie

June 3rd– Lindas Book Obsession https://www.facebook.com/lindasbookobsession/

June 5th – Michelle Boyea https://instagram.com/michelle_boyea

June 5th – Henry and Bennys Book Nook https://instagram.com/henryandbennysbooknook

June 6th – Books With Bethany https://instagram.com/books_with_bethany 

June 7th – The Weekend Booker https://instagram.com/theweekendbooker

June 10th -Jennifer Tar Heel Reader – http://www.jennifertarheelreader.com

/https://instagram.com/tarheelreader 

June 10th – Read A Lot Write A Lot https://instagram.com/readalotwritealot

June 11th – Reading With Nicole https://instagram.com/reading_with_nicole

June 12th  – The Book Blondie https://instagram.com/thebookblondie 

June 13th –  Sarah And Her Bookshelves-  https://instagram.com/sarahandherbookshelves

June 15th – Books Writing and More https://instagram.com/bookswritingandmore

June 15th – SL Reads Books https://instagram.com/slreadsbooks

June 17th – Ya It’s Lit https://instagram.com/ya.its.lit

June 18th- Always With A Book – https://instagram.com/k2reader

June 20th – My Reading Chronicles https://instagram.com/myreadingchronicles 

June 22nd – Meet Me In The Stacks https://instagram.com/meetmeinthestacks

June 24th – Nature Books and Coffee https://instagram.com/nature.books.and.coffee

June 25th – The Salty Bookworm https://instagram.com/thesaltybookworm

June 27th – Carol Doscher https://instagram.com/carol_doscher_reader

June 28th– Texacali Books https://instagram.com/texacalibooks 

June 29th – Megs Book Club https://instagram.com/megsbookclub

*I received a copy in exchange for an honest review*

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s