Sisters of Sword and Song Review

About the Book

From the author of The Queen’s Rising comes a thrilling YA stand-alone fantasy about the unbreakable bond between sisters. Perfect for fans of Ember in the Ashes, Sky in the Deep, and Court of Fives.

After eight long years, Evadne will finally be reunited with her older sister, Halcyon, who has been proudly serving in the queen’s army. But when Halcyon appears earlier than expected, Eva knows something has gone terribly wrong. Halcyon is on the run, hunted by her commander and charged with murder.

Though Halcyon’s life is spared during her trial, the punishment is heavy. And when Eva volunteers to serve part of Halcyon’s sentence, she’s determined to find out exactly what happened. But as Eva begins her sentence, she quickly learns that there are fates much worse than death

Review

This book took me so long to read just because I didn’t want it to end. When I had about 50 pages left I literally put my bookmark back in (in the middle of a chapter of all things!), set it back on my night stand, and left it there to sit. ALL because I just wasn’t ready to leave this world and story. Especially since it was written as just a standalone.

Going into this book I immediately knew I would love it because it’s set in a world similar to Ancient Greece. So, you could probably imagine how my Greek blood was singing at this already promising premise. Then you add in the bond of sisterhood between the pages and I knew my fate was sealed. I absolutely loved seeing how Evadne and Halcyon grew after seeing one another. They were each so focused on their love for one another and just continued to strive to be better for the other. It was so wholesome.

I do have to admit though that Evadne was my favorite. I just felt like her story and grow throughout the book deserved a standing ovation. And then you add in a slow burn romance with a cinnamon roll (this is my new favorite term apparently) sorcerer and I just couldn’t even handle the cuteness between the two. Evadne started off as the girl who always felt inferior to her *boss* sister. The girl who thought she would never be able to become something stronger than what her mangled foot made her appear, so seeing just how much confidence Evadne gained by the end of the story was so empowering.

Halcyon on the other hand had always felt as if she were on top of the world, but one terrible mistake led her to feeling that she didn’t even deserve to live. Throughout the story we see her battling with her personal demons while withstanding the demons surrounding her. Halcyon’s story was most definitely a story of survival and forgiving oneself.

This book literally just had me craving to curl up on the couch with it, some warm coffee, and a pile of blankets. I wanted to spend hours with these characters and in this story and I still feel sad that it is over. It is definitely one of those books that as soon as I finished it I missed it.

About the Author

Rebecca Ross grew up in Georgia, where she continues to reside with her husband, lively dog and endless piles of books. She received her bachelor’s degree in English from UGA. In the past she has worked at a Colorado dude ranch, as a school librarian, and as a live-time captionist for a college.

Rebecca writes fantasy for young adult readers. Her debut novel, THE QUEEN’S RISING, will be out February 6, 2018 from HarperTeen.

THE QUEEN’S RISING is set to be translated into Portuguese, Spanish, Italian, Hungarian, Turkish, Bulgarian, Dutch, German, Hebrew and will be available in the UK.

*I received a copy in exchange for an honest review*

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s