State of Treason Tour – Review & Giveaway

Click the image to see my booksta post!

About the Book

State of Treason by Paul Walker


Publication Date: May 20, 2019
Sharpe Books
eBook & Paperback; 317 Pages
Genre: Historical Fiction

    “A gripping and evocative page-turner that vibrantly brings Elizabeth’s London to life.” -Steven Veerapen, author of A Dangerous Trade

London 1578 – a cauldron of conspiracy, intrigue and torture.

The might of Spain and the growing influence of the Catholic League in France all threaten the stability of Queen Elizabeth and her state.

William Constable, a physician and astrologer, is summoned to the presence of the Queen’s spymaster, Sir Francis Walsingham. He is charged to assist a renowned Puritan, John Foxe, in uncovering the secrets of a mysterious cabinet containing an astrological chart and coded message. Together, these claim Elizabeth has a hidden, illegitimate child (an “unknowing maid”) who will be declared to the masses and serve as the focus for an invasion.

Constable must uncover the identity of the plotters, unaware that he is also under suspicion.

A connection to his estranged mentor, Doctor Dee, comes under scrutiny. Pressured into taking up a position as a court physician, Constable becomes a reluctant spy.

Do the stars and cipher speak true, or is there some other malign intent in the complex web of scheming? Constable becomes an unwitting pawn, in a complex game of thrones and power.

State of Treason is the first in a series of Elizabethan thrillers featuring William Constable.

Recommended for fans of C.J. Sansom, S J Parris and Rory Clements.

Review

I have to say that this book hooked me right from the start! Sometimes I find that books set in this time are difficult to read, but State of Treason was instantly engaging. Political intrigue, spy masters, and conspiracy theories are aplenty in this story. This first book in the William Constable series is focused on the rumor of Queen Elizabeth having a secret bastard child.

When William finds himself summoned by the Queen’s very own spymaster he knew that he would have to tread carefully. And remaining on guard and using his own set of skills is just what might get William Constable through this particular mission: discovering the secrets held within a mysterious cabinet.

I really enjoyed this book and look forward to continuing the series! Spy books are always interesting, but adding in the high stakes of London in the 1500s makes it so much more interesting!

About the Author

Paul Walker inherited his love of British history and historical fiction from his mother who was an active member of the Richard III Society.

State of Treason is the first in a planned series of Elizabethan spy thrillers. The plot is based around real characters and events in London of the 1570’s. The hero, William Constable, is an astrologer and also a skeptic. He is also a mathematician, astronomer and inventor of a navigational aid for ships. The distinction between astrology and astronomy was blurred in the sixteenth century.

The second book in the series, A Necessary Killing, was published in November 2019.

Paul is married and lives in a village 30 miles north of London. His writing is regularly disrupted by children and a growing number of grandchildren and dogs.

Tour Schedule

Monday, January 20
Review at Donna’s Book Blog

Tuesday, January 21
Review at Books and Zebras

Wednesday, January 22
Excerpt at Jathan & Heather

Thursday, January 23
Feature at I’m Into Books
Review at Historical Graffiti

Friday, January 24
Review at Gwendalyn’s Books
Review at Historical Fiction with Spirit

Monday, January 27
Review at DFW’s Historical Fiction + Adirondack Spirit Blog

Wednesday, January 29
Feature at The Book Junkie Reads

Saturday, February 1
Excerpt at booknook2020

Monday, February 3
Review at YA, It’s Lit

Tuesday, February 4
Review at Passages to the Past

Wednesday, February 5
Interview at Passages to the Past

Thursday, February 6
Review at Nursebookie
Review at Tales from the Book Dragon

Giveaway

During the Blog Tour, we are giving away a paperback copy of State of Treason! To enter, please use the Gleam form below.

Giveaway Rules

– Giveaway ends at 11:59 pm EST on February 6th. You must be 18 or older to enter.
– Paperback giveaway is open internationally.
– Only one entry per household.
– All giveaway entrants agree to be honest and not cheat the systems; any suspicion of fraud will be decided upon by blog/site owner and the sponsor, and entrants may be disqualified at our discretion.
– The winner has 48 hours to claim prize or a new winner is chosen.

State of Treason https://widget.gleamjs.io/e.js

*I received a copy in exchange for an honest review*

2 thoughts on “State of Treason Tour – Review & Giveaway”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s