Don’t Call the Wolf Review

Click the image to see my booksta post!

About the Book

A forest, besieged. A queen, unyielding. Fans of Leigh Bardugo and Holly Black will devour this deliciously dark Eastern European–inspired YA fantasy debut.

When the Golden Dragon descended on the forest of Kamiena, a horde of monsters followed in its wake.

Ren, the forest’s young queen, is slowly losing her battle against them. Until she rescues Lukasz—the last survivor of a heroic regiment of dragon slayers—and they strike a deal. She will help him find his brother, who vanished into her forest… if Lukasz promises to slay the Dragon.

But promises are all too easily broken.

Review

So, as soon as I started reading this book I knew it would be one of my favorites! It’s a retelling of a polish fairy tale “The Glass Mountain.” Which, I have never read but now need to familiarize myself with. So, there’s a lot to love in this story: the fairy tale aspects, wolves, and dragons. I mean, it’s like all of my favorite things wrapped up into one!

I’m quite picky with retellings and I don’t always pick up fairy tale inspired books right away. The reason? There’s so many and I’m sick of the same story over and over. HOWEVER, I LOVE a retelling that still keeps a sense of the fairy tale. This story does just that and (in a very contradictory statement) the traditional stylization is such a breath of fresh air! It’s exactly what I miss in many of these retellings that come out now. Which, is funny, because a lot of people tend to feel the opposite of me. Oops.

So, dragons man. These dragons have antlers and are basically the coolest dragons I’ve ever read about. There are also so many other mythical creatures in this story. Everything was always taken back to the mythology on which this story was based, so be prepared to read some very Polish names for these creatures.

This story is set up like a classic fairy tale. The prose is beautiful and the story is paced like you would read in a fairy tale. This also means that the story wraps up quickly at the end.

But anyways: READ IT!

About the Author

Aleksandra Ross‘s earliest memories include sitting on the couch and listening to her grandmother read the Polish folktales of her childhood. She grew up in Vancouver, BC, and went to medical school at the University of Alberta. Don’t Call the Wolf is her first novel.

*I received a copy in exchange for an honest review*

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s